” Self Care”

You cannot go throughout your day without breathing–although it may feel like it when you are going too fast. With that said, at any time during your day that you are feeling stressed, overwhelmed, confused, or just plain foggy, I encourage you to stop and breathe. It’s really very simple, and it can go like this (although there are countless ways you can do it):

  • Stop what you are doing
  • Close your eyes
  • Breathe in
  • Breathe out
  • Gradually expand the breath past the usually areas where you are comfortable breathing
  • Breathe deeply into your whole diaphragm and down into your low back
  • Slow the breath down
  • Do this for 3 minutes
Image result for pictures of meditation

In order to completely take care of self you need to let go of stressors. Do you know what your stressors are? For me they are a days of being on the go without time to breathe. I get overwhelmed and irritable and it takes me a while to center myself and regroup. Once I am able to do that I am back on track.

I also meditate, read, write, listen to music, read my bible and pray. I have times where all I want to do is pray and talk to God and a calmness comes over me. I have found that not everyone is able to identify with being spiritual and not wanting to find a higher power so one of the things that isn’t part of spiritual self-care is the idea of converting others to make them see your way of doing things. Don’t bother people who aren’t interested in spirituality, and don’t impose your views on others who are interested in spirituality but have different beliefs.

As a woman, I can tell you now, that another way to my self care is shopping! Ohhhh yes! I love shopping! I love to travel and sight see… while I am doing that I write how I’m feeling at the time and take it all in. Other days, I love to just go for walks and let nature take over me with sounds. I enjoy being near and in the water (true Aquarian) and that keeps me content. Image result for pictures of water

Self Care is very important for everyone and I hope that by sharing this you are able to take time for yourself and breathe.

 

 

Leave a Reply

