Listen

“There is a sacredness in tears. They are not the mark of weakness, but of power. They speak more eloquently than ten thousand tongues. They are the messengers of overwhelming grief, of deep contrition, and of unspeakable love.”

–Washington Irving

As I talked to her on the phone, I couldnt help but here the pain in her voice so I began to pray over her. She said that she doesnt know how to get help and that she didnt have long to wait. She told me she had twins, Lupus and was now kicked out of the house … Raped last week and now in the hospital.

I listened…

As she went on, I can recall the faint breathing in her tone, as if she was falling asleep. I let her know I was still on the line and she continued to hold on.

Our conversation was now lengthy and I finally heard her begin to smile. My heart melted knowing I gave her a glimmer of hope for that moment in time.

I continued to listen…

She said she wanted to give up her children because she just couldnt see anything good happening… I then began to pray outloud and she paused….

She listened…

Before the prayer was over she was in tears and we both said Amen…

God spoke in the midst of it all….

We listened…

Leave a Reply

